Labor Day Shootout Qualifying Results
Written by Barry Angstadt   
Sunday, 05 September 2010 12:43
The highlights:

A grand total of 183 Micro-Sprints filled the pit area of Lanco's Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway on Saturday. Here's the breakdown: there were 53 entries in the 270's; the 600's pulled a field of 48; great turnout of 30 of the 125cc Micros; 26 Sportsman teams entered the Shootout; there were 14 of the 250cc Four-Strokes and 12 of Airport's 250cc Stock Micro-Sprints.

Using the dual heat/passing point system for all classes, the Clyde's surface held up well as 38 qualifying heats were run on Saturday night. A C-Main for the 270's and a B-Main for the 125cc racers ended the program.

When the qualifying points were tallied, Chris Gerhart was at the top of the 600cc chart and will start on the pole in Sunday's 30-lap A-Main. Gerhart is driving Mike Dicely's No. 44 this weekend, while Dicely is racing his 2011 Hyper 600 Prototype Chassis.

There will be some intense racing in today's 600cc B-Main, with names like Ryan Greth, Brian Carber, Tyler Walker, Frank Jarkiewicz, Jim Radney, Heath Hehnly, Jared Davis, and Ryan Wilson all needing to qualify through the last-chance race.

Richie Hartman earned the most qualifying points in both the 270cc and 250cc Four-Stroke heat races, placing him on the pole for both of those main events. Hartman is wheeling Chip Geib's No. 88 in the Four-Stroke class this weekend.

Jason Swavely, the Rocket Man out of Douglassville, Pa., took a big step in his quest for a fifth consecutive victory in the Sportsman class. Swavely collected the highest number of qualifying points and will take the green for the 30-lap A-Main from the inside of row one.

Shane Braxton led the way in 125cc qualifying action, picking up more points than anyone else in the class. Braxton will lead the field to the green flag, along with fellow front row starter Jesse Maurer. Cousins Evan Krautwald and Phil Durham will line up in the second row.

Jake Allen and Barry Pollard earned the right to start one/two in the A-Main for the 250cc Stock class.

Lanco's Labor Day Shootout - Day Two - begins with warm-ups at 5 p.m. The 270cc B-Main goes green at 5:30, followed by the 600cc B-Main. The six, 30-lap A-Mains will then take center stage.

The Shootout is sponsored by Giorgio Foods (America's Favorite Mushrooms) and Hyper Racing. More than $20,000 will be distributed by the end of Sunday's competition, with the 600cc and 270cc race winners receiving $1,000.

600cc: 1.Chris Gerhart, 2.Shane Braxton, 3.Jon Holmquist, 4.Robbie Kendall, 5.Mike Rutherford, 6.Jeff Halligan, 7.Shane Lewis, 8.A.J. Michael, 9.Jered Hook, 10.Luke Thomas, 11.Nick Cooper, 12.Nick Sapp, 13.Tom Kohler, 14.Mark Ludwig, 15.Jamie Kostic, 16.Tyler Ross, 17.Shaun Brandel, 18.Mike Dicely, 19.Tim Buckwalter, 20.Randy Oswald.

270cc: 1.Richie Hartman, 2.Mike Rutherford, 3.Jesse Maurer, 4.Nick Skias, 5.Jason Swavely, 6.Dave Grube, 7.Angelo Mercado, 8.Heath Hehnly, 9.Pete Skias, 10.Steve Drevicki, 11.Devin Harron, 12.Brian Marriott, 13.Jared Kunkle, 14.Christi Sweigart, 15.Timmy Buckwalter, 16.Tyler Reinhardt, 17.Bill Sorey, 18.Rick Francis, 19.Billy Logeman, 20.Kerry Lengle.

250cc Four-Stroke: 1.Richie Hartman, 2.Matthew Swift, 3.Craig DeSantis, 4.Lewis Kepple Jr., 5.Travis Esh, 6.Peter Michael, 7.Jared Esh, 8.Jessica Mohler, 9.Kimberly Enck, 10.Ronald Wechter, 11.Kim Trout, 12.Brenda Shepherd, 13.Jason Morrison, 14.Justin Zelek.

Sportsman: 1.Jason Swavely, 2.David Kemp, 3.Ken Miller Jr., 4.Paul May, 5.Jason Hehnly, 6.Bret Habecker, 7.Jamie Fetterolf, 8.Brett Wanner, 9.Tyler Pannebecker, 10.Paul Moore Jr., 11.Kerry Gilbert, 12.Dennis Ziegler, 13.Heath Hehnly, 14.Corey Schmuck Jr., 15.Jenna Keppley, 16.Dennis Fenstermacher, 17.Robert Shanaman, 18.Michael Heiser, 19.Dwayne Mathias, 20.Jonathan Swift, 21.Brad Kemp, 22.Scott Garman, 23.Kelby Stauffer, 24.Jeff Hughes, 25.Tim Ziegler, 26.Joel Tolley.

125cc: 1.Shane Braxton, 2.Jesse Maurer, 3.Evan Krautwald, 4.Phil Durham, 5.Tim Colbert, 6.Cody Drace, 7.Barry Pollard, 8.Bret Habecker, 9.Ray Miller, 10.Ryan Wilson, 11.Heather Colbert, 12.Derek Ecenrode, 13.Angelo Bianco, 14.Dana Watkins, 15.Bradley Brown, 16.Lee Reinhardt, 17.Mark Yoder, 18.Zoe Ford, 19.Devin Harron, 20.Sonny Sweitzer. (B-Main Qualifiers): 21.Dave Grube, 22.Daniel Braun, 23.Curtis R. Miller, 24.Erin DeLong.

250cc Stock: 1.Jake Allen, 2.Barry Pollard, 3.Justin Layton, 4.Phil Durham, 5.Ryan Wozunk, 6.Ava Mercado, 7.Nick Skias, 8.Marco Michetti, 9.Brett Estep, 10.Lew Schwander, 11.Mike Lukas, 12.Craig Martin.

Upcoming Events